Invocation Information

Invocation Policy & Invitation to Volunteer Invocation Speakers

Invocation Policy

The Longwood City Commission adopted an invocation policy on February 7, 2020 via Resolution 22-1594.  Please click on the link below to view the invocation policy.

Invocation Policy (PDF)

If you have any questions, please contact the City Clerk.

Email Michelle Longo

Invitation

Dear Sir or Madam,

The City Commission of the City of Longwood makes it a policy to invite volunteer invocation speakers to voluntarily offer an invocation before the beginning of its meetings, for the benefit and blessing of the City Commission. As a representative of one of the religious congregations or other groups with an established presence serving the City, you are eligible to offer this important service at an upcoming meeting of the City Commission.

If you are willing to assist the City Commission in this regard, please send a written reply at your earliest convenience to the City Clerk of the City of Longwood at the address included in this letterhead. Representatives are scheduled on a first-come, first-serve basis. The anticipated dates of the City Commission’s regularly scheduled meetings for the upcoming year are listed on the following attached page. Speakers are invited on a rotation basis. We are unable to accommodate requests for specific dates.

This opportunity is voluntary, and you are free to offer the invocation according to the dictates of your own conscience. To maintain a spirit of respect and ecumenism, the City Commission requests that the opportunity not be exploited as an effort to convert others to the particular faith of the invocation speaker or to disparage any faith or belief different than that of the invocation speaker. A copy of Resolution No. 22-1594 adopting the City Commission's policy regarding invocations is attached for your information.

On behalf of the City Commission of the City of Longwood, I thank you in advance for considering this invitation.

Sincerely,

Michelle Longo, CMC

City Clerk

2022 Longwood City Commission Regular Meeting Schedule

Monday, January 17, 2022

Monday, February 7, 2022

Monday, February 21, 2022

Monday, March 7, 2022

Monday, March 21, 2022

Monday, April 4, 2022

Monday, April 18, 2022

Monday, May 2, 2022

Monday, May 16, 2022

Monday, June 6, 2022

Monday, June 20, 2022

Monday, July 18, 2022

Monday, August 1, 2022

Monday, August 15, 2022

Monday, September 5, 2022

Monday, September 19, 2022

Monday, October 3, 2022

Monday, October 17, 2022

Monday, November 7, 2022

Monday, November 21, 2022

Monday, December 5, 2022

Monday, December 19, 2022


Generally, Regular Meetings are held on the First and Third Mondays each month and commence at 6:00 p.m.

All Meeting Dates and Times are subject to change and/or cancellation.