City of Longwood Government

The City of Longwood, pursuant to its Charter, follows a "Commission-Manager" form of government.

Residents are served by five non-partisan elected officials who are the policy-making body of the City. These elected officials, the City Commission, appoint the City Manager. The City Manager is the Chief Executive Officer of the City and is responsible for the administration and daily business operations of the City.

City Commissioners are elected for three-year terms. The Mayor is elected from among the Commission Members the first Meeting in May. The Deputy Mayor rotates among the five Commission Districts in an ascending numerical order the second Meeting in November. The City Commission legislatively establishes policies in the form of ordinances or resolutions, which determine the laws, proceedings, and service levels for the City.

The Mayor presides at all Commission meetings, which take place the first and third Mondays of each month at 7:00 PM in the City Hall Commission Chambers.